Boats, ships, sea, beach and shore

By Sisley, Alfred-The walking beside the cliffs of Langland Bay. Wales

By Sisley, Alfred-The walking beside the cliffs of Langland Bay. Wales

By Carus, Carl Gustav - Bow of a ship

By Carus, Carl Gustav – Bow of a ship

By Van Dongen, Kees - Two french women wait for tanning

By Van Dongen, Kees – Two french women wait for tanning

By Shishkin, Ivan - A coastal view of Black Sea near Yalta

By Shishkin, Ivan – A coastal view of Black Sea near Yalta

By Sargent, John Singer - A navigator rests at Venice

By Sargent, John Singer – A navigator rests at Venice

By Turner - Study of fish

By Turner – Study of fish

By Prendergast, Maurice - Women tourists bathing their feet on the shore

By Prendergast, Maurice – Women tourists bathing their feet on the shore

By Whistler - A vessel

By Whistler – A vessel

By Constable - Coastal landscape near Dover

By Constable – Coastal landscape near Dover

By Pissarro - Tied boats

By Pissarro – Tied boats

By Rembrandt - Landscape with a river barge

By Rembrandt – Landscape with a river barge

By Zorn, Anders - The shaded area of a stream

By Zorn, Anders – The shaded area of a stream

By Cotman, John Sell - Very choppy sea

By Cotman, John Sell – Very choppy sea

By Mondrian - A boat on the river near of Amsterdam

By Mondrian – A boat on the river near of Amsterdam

By Walker, William Aiken - Studies of ships near of Key West. Florida

By Walker, William Aiken – Studies of ships near of Key West. Florida

By Bluemner, Oscar - Landscape with a boat

By Bluemner, Oscar – Landscape with a boat

By Kokoschka - Study of ships on the river Thames beside the electric plant

By Kokoschka – Study of ships on the river Thames beside the electric plant

By myself - A boy and his air mattress over the sea

By myself – A boy and his air mattress over the sea

32 Comments

Filed under boats ships sea beach shore and rivers

32 responses to “Boats, ships, sea, beach and shore

  1. Annie B

    More beautiful scenes to capture my imagination.

    • Oh Annie, your refined sensitivity is contributing to this wonderful cycle. The works awaked your imagination and this is just the thing that make art. Thanks so much for your visit and comment. Best wishes dear.

      • Annie B

        Thank you! I love the way such pieces spark the imagination. Sometimes I find myself imagining an entire scene, wondering who the characters are, what their lives are like. I love art.

  2. What a treat! I love living in Cinccinnati but I do miss the sea! Your own sketch is beautiful, capturing the imagine and atmosphere so well, the lovely soft coloring in contrast with the quick black lines gives it extra movement (does that make sense?) Are you familiar with the work of Potthast? Love and Peace, Johanna

    • Hi Johanna, just now I browsed the works of Edward Henry Potthast. Thanks to your wisdom, that I hereinafter know him. Here in Spain, was another an artist called Joaquin Sorolla that also enjoyed to depict people at the shore. I don’t remember exactly, but I think the sizes of paper on was drawn the boy of mattress, were 3,15 x 5,30 inches (a permanent ink pen with touches by colour pencils). It was a day that my brother and me were under an little umbrella on a beach near to Barcelona. The description you made is masterly, on the shore often the air and the sun light create movement everywhere, and I tried to capture a little bit of this. I love the sense that your appreciation gives. You are distant from sea, I’m near, but we are sharing the same sensation. This is a marvel of world wide web. Kisses.

  3. How is possible capture emotions, atmosfere with so few lines. Must be a gift. I Loved your sketch…. 🙂 🙂

    • Oh dear Mirna, in the year when I made this drawing, I used to carry some pencils and pens, and so when something was arousing some sensations, I always was ready to capture it. I confess that a lot of sketches was declined, but others received the blessing of random. It happens something similar as a photography. Thanks a million for your visits and also for this friendly comment. Best wishes for you, from my heart ❤

  4. I love all these sketches, all the free flowing lines capture the essence of the sea such as in your sketch. Sorolla is one of my fave artists and now I have discovered Potthast thanks to this blog and reading the comments above 🙂

  5. Preciosas pinturas marinas 🙂 .. Abrazos de luz

  6. These were beautiful and perfect for our hot summer days. I particularly loved, By Sisley, Alfred-The walking beside the cliffs of Langland Bay. Wales
    Sharing this now with our readers.

    • Oh, I’m sorry for my delay, this work of Sisley is really so delicious. That’s because is on first place. This composition with a diagonal that divides earth and sea, here gives a good balance and not boring, because all the scrub is a world full of colour made thread to thread. Among these some walkers are wandering over a path like a serpentine and this could be the left side of a fancied triangle. Thanks so much for your rich comment, and for stopping by. You’re a fabolous kindred. Best wishes ❤

  7. Beautiful! My fav is “A Navigator Rests at Venice.”

    • Oh Michelle, maybe each visit is a bit of silver, a comment gold, but a comment expressing your favourites maybe is real platinum. Here John Singer Sargent demonstrates his ability with paintbrushes, the water but mainly about the perfect pressure when he is drawing. The poles are depicting with few water and less contact over paper. Though the clothes of the body are made with strokes with the paintbrush lying. Several shades of blue, cream and brown are disseminated in all the composition, but the power that make us ‘to fall in love’ is in the green hull. This colored shape distinguishes of the rest. Thanks so much! See you soon, dear.

  8. Mira por donde me encuentro un blog de arte de alguien que comenta mis post y mira por donde también, que yo pinto….Casualidades de la vida! Creo que voy a aprender mucho aqui.

  9. Wonderful as always. The muted blues and khakis . . .

    • Hi Julie, the khaki colour maybe is telling us about our reverence to Mother Nature, the blue one depicts nostalgia about some kind experiences You have an special sensitivity to detect it. Thanks for the stopping by and for your wise comment too. ❤

  10. “A boy and his air mattress over the sea” could be me at the age of 11 when I got an air mattress. I used my imagination to let it take me many please.

  11. I love yours, Whistler’s, and Carl Gustav. I enjoyed your site and post a lot! Hope to see more, and I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

