Angels, putti and cherubs

By Redon, Odilon - The angel of the sword

By Redon, Odilon – The angel of the sword

By Bernini, Gian Lorenzo - Study for angel with a crown

By Bernini, Gian Lorenzo – Study for angel with a crown

By Dalí, Salvador - An angel between clouds

By Dalí, Salvador – An angel between clouds

By Bourdelle, Emile A. - A cherub pulling a wing of an angel

By Bourdelle, Emile A. – A cherub pulling a wing of an angel

By Passeri, Giuseppe - A praying angel

By Passeri, Giuseppe – A praying angel

By Tiepolo, G. B. - A putto that carries a woman embraced to an angel

By Tiepolo, G. B. – A putto that carries a woman embraced to an angel

By Reynolds, Joshua - A floating cherub holding a ribbon of a garment

By Reynolds, Joshua – A floating cherub holding a ribbon of a garment

By Della Porta, A. C. - Cupid on the lap of Diana hiding up the Love Arrow behind his body

By Della Porta, A. C. – Cupid on the lap of Diana hiding up the Love Arrow behind his body

By Chagall, Marc - Depiction of an angel holding a sword

By Chagall, Marc – Depiction of an angel holding a sword

By Carracci, Annibale - A floating chubby cherub

By Carracci, Annibale – A floating chubby cherub

By Barocci, Federico - A meeting of putti and angels over the clouds

By Barocci, Federico – A meeting of putti and angels over the clouds

By Burne Jones, Edward - Studies and sketches about wings of angels

By Burne Jones, Edward – Studies and sketches about wings of angels

18 Comments

Filed under mythology allegoric literary biblical and religious

18 responses to “Angels, putti and cherubs

  1. I love angels and these were all very different x

  2. These are all wonderful!
    I love the Redon – what a fabulous blue.

    • Oh dear, I’m so glad because I realized this unusual and wonderful blue. Not an Ultramar, neither a Cobalt, maybe a Prussian Blue, with bright shades of the transparences. It’s a pity that this artist worked mainly in black and white. I’m proud for sharing your sensitive beholding. Thanks a million.

  3. Such beautiful and different representations of angels. It was very soothing and intriguing to look at them.

    • Dear Lori, the goal of this site is to demonstrate that any different way to depict is so valid to practise the sketch or drawing, as we do with our calligraphy. No matter the age or era, everybody can to experience and feel a similar sensation in front the same model or motif used along the centuries.
      Your delight is the goal of this site. Thanks for your comment. Best wishes.

  4. Beautiful!! Sorry for my poor vocabulary but I think that lately you are a bit “mystic” jajaja, your last post is about saints and this is about angels. However, in my opinion you have taken a good decision 🙂

    Congratulations for your wordpress!!

    My best whishes 🙂

    • Do not tell anyone, but your opinion was the most awaited. You have completely the right reason again. But I’m comfortable in the mystic characters. Everything must to be balanced, after will come the fleshly topics, ‘sensual’, ‘male nudes’, ‘female nudes’, ‘relationships’, etc, ha, ha. Often I supervise the sequences of thematic. I try to alternate every post begining of a week with human figures, with others that not appear. Wherefore I planned that the ‘angels’ must be followed a week after with the topic ‘animals’ next weekend, but the saints seep because there is only the possibility of their day in the calendar. Something similiar than the special events.
      Some curiosity is that the picture of the header of next post was by this namesake of me: Hendrick Goltzius. The same author of this saint Daniel. I have to confess that all the pictures are previously processed with Photoshop, and that is the reason because every post is so labourious.
      My heartfelt opinion is that you have an enough level to comment in whatever blog.
      And each mistake we can do, offer us the possibility to know the right answer. Is the only way to learn.
      Have you seen how awake I’m at this time. Maybe the lark is becoming an owl. Ha, ha. Thanks so much for your splendid comment. Happy dreams and see you soon, precious ❤

      • Hi!^^

        Have you told that next week you will upload with a topic about animals?? Wild animals?

        It’s great! Please, can you upload a wolf? A wolf’s picture, I mean, haha. It would be fantastic to have a true wolf in my home, but… it would be a pretty complicated 🙂

        Finally, you will became in an owl…!! 😛

        Smack!!!

      • Oh Sara, I’m checking my image bank, but I’m thinking if it would be more suitable on this warm season a refreshing dauphin, or the mythological female wolf of Rómulo and Remo. This last will not disturb you in the nights. It’s a real pity because I had been preparing an sketch about some foxes. Something cute. Wouldn’t you care a change of animals?
        Please a moment, it will not be necessary to change. I have some more accurate options. Alright with your whim, it will be a wild and furry animal in the middle of your summer.
        I’m seeing the available pictures: a bloody wolf (I don’t know why the draftsman made it this depiction); a gorgeous two wolfs, in a colorful picture (but I don’t know if you are disposed to adopt more than one, because maybe they are a couple); other is a black and white engraving by an artist to illustrate the tale of Little Red Hood (‘Caperucita’) and of course is with the girl, or another but this is a so frugal wolf.
        Will I publish a comment saying something similar that the picture is a request by you (My humble opinion is that better not to put the link of your WP. Some people could to think that psychologists could be the most unbalanced when they are teasing). You decide.
        In the next post is planned the picture of a snake in the tenth position. If you have any phobia to this animal, I would try to place your drawing before, and then you will not be forced to see the other animal.
        Yeah, last night I became in an owl and now we are in the path to become in two ethologists.
        You will suffer the howls of your new adoption mixed with your own ululating. Poor yours neighbours!
        Besos.

      • All options are interesting but I choose the picture 2: two wolfs. Although the picture of Little Red Hood it is sound well too. Anyway, don’t matter because both must be precious 🙂

        Thank you for your fast comment and you can publish my link if you want^^

        Ah! I don’t have afraid of snakes but honestly… they aren’t my favourite animal…. haha 😛

      • Oh you are so quick to answer. I admire that. I’m a snail o a turtle for everything.
        I’m so glad because truly this option is in my opinion the most beautiful and creative. Ok, I will publish your link. Have a nice night and a good rest. Thank you for everything. So long!

  5. I love Cherubs and Cupid sketches… Diana looks beautiful… What a lovely blog here!

Leave a Reply

